How Many Spiritual Works Of Mercy Are There

According to Catholic tradition, the seven actions of corporal mercy meet the poor's physical necessities. Feeding the hungry, visiting the imprisoned, burying the dead, clothing the naked, caring for the ill, providing refuge for travelers, and providing drink to the thirsty are just a few examples.

Before You Continue...

Do you know what is your soul number? Take this quick quiz to find out! Get a personalized numerology report, and discover how you can unlock your fullest spiritual potential. Start the quiz now!

What is spiritual mercy?

Mercy spirituality is about coming face to face with God's love. God's love makes it possible to love oneself, and these two things combined make it possible to love one's neighbor. Mercy spirituality becomes the foundation of compassionate service in this way.

What are the 14 works of mercy?

Corporal works of mercy are those that tend to other beings' bodily needs. In Matthew's Gospel, Chapter 25, Jesus gives the usual list in his famous discourse on the Last Judgment. They're also mentioned in Isaiah's book. Although it was not included to the list until the Middle Ages, the seventh work of kindness stems from the Book of Tobit and the mitzvah of burial.

What are the 7 works of mercy?

This picture appears to show a bustling genre scene in a Dutch village, yet it contains more than meets the eye. The scene's numerous groupings of characters represent the seven bodily acts of mercy: feeding the hungry, giving drink to the thirsty, clothing the naked, providing refuge to travelers, visiting the sick, visiting the imprisoned, and burying the dead. There are various variations of this piece.

Are two of the spiritual works of mercy?

As you may recall, I mentioned in my previous column that I would write about the 7 Spiritual Works of Mercy in the same way that I wrote about the 7 Corporal Works of Mercy. However, I did include a disclaimer. It's a lot easier to perform the 7 Corporal Works of Mercy than it is to perform the 7 Spiritual Works of Mercy. Why, you might wonder? Because doing spiritual deeds of mercy involves a great deal more humility, disciplined charity, and the capacity to communicate without appearing arrogant or nagging. So here we go…

HTML tutorial
  • To educate the uninitiated. This compassion task entails that we are all called to share and teach the faith that has been passed down to us. This, of course, necessitates a thorough understanding of our faith and what our church actually teaches. And the most effective approach to instruct and teach is to lead by example.
  • To give advice to those who are unsure. Everyone has doubts and concerns regarding their beliefs. Mother Teresa, like everyone else, had dark hours of the soul when she felt uncertainty and despair. This act of mercy reminds us of the importance of walking intimately with individuals going through changes, loss, or significant trials, praying for them and being there for them.
  • To chastise a sinner. This is a difficult one, especially if one is honest about one's own life. “Those who live in glass homes should not fling stones,” as Pope Francis put it, or “Who am I to judge?” as he put it. However, this third act of kindness requires us to engage in a dialogue with people about any sinful behavior that may occur. This is where compassion and charity must be utilized with caution, with words carefully chosen to avoid coming across as preachy, nagging, or “holier than thou.” This isn't going to be easy.
  • To patiently suffer wrongs. Our pride is to blame here, and revenge is the temptation. The words of Jesus, “Turn the other cheek,” resound in our ears, but doing so is difficult. And I believe it is often more difficult to bear wrongdoings and be patient in the face of adversity when someone harms our children or grandchildren.
  • To willingly forgive wrongdoings. This act of mercy is inextricably linked to patiently bearing wrongdoing. It takes time to forgive, and even if one does not feel fully at ease with the other, the desire to forgive is the first step toward full forgiveness. The promise from the Lord Jesus that “as many times as you forgive others, Keith, that's how many times I'll forgive you” helps me forgive another.
  • To console the bereaved. There are moments when we witness someone going through a difficult period and we are powerless to help him or her. Our words are insufficient, and our actions are ineffective. All we can do is walk silently in love and prayer with him or her. I'll never forget something a seminary classmate did for me one day. Bill patted me on the shoulder one day in chapel, knowing how sad and afraid I was when Momma was dying, and said, “I'm thinking you're having a hard time praying right now.” In your honor, I'm praying especially hard right now.”
  • It is customary to pray for both the living and the deceased. Prayer is unquestionably the most vital aspect of every work of mercy, whether spiritual or corporeal. Prayer that tries to bring us closer to God transforms the physical act of feeding the needy into a spiritual act of doing good for others while giving God honor. “Our private prayers for our neighbors and for the departed offers us little glory or acclaim from others,” one writer writes, “but in the end, when we stand before God, we will be able to give an account of our prayerful charity to others, and thus Jesus will grant mercy to us.”

This brings us to the end of the spiritual list, and coupled with bodily deeds of mercy, we can help to make the world a better place while also growing in holiness. Have a wonderful and safe Mardi Gras! This Sunday and on Ash Wednesday, I hope to see you in church!

Msgr. Keith DeRouen is the chancellor of Opelousas Catholic School and the pastor of Our Lady Queen of Angels Catholic Church.

What are the seven gift of Holy Spirit?

Wisdom, understanding, counsel, fortitude, knowledge, piety, and fear of the Lord are the seven gifts of the Holy Spirit. While some Christians regard them as a comprehensive list of precise characteristics, others see them as illustrations of the Holy Spirit's work through the faithful.

What is 12 fruits of the Holy Spirit?

According to Chapter 5 of the Epistle to the Galatians, “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control,” the Fruit of the Holy Spirit is a biblical term that sums up nine attributes of a person or community living in accordance with the Holy Spirit: “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control.” In this chapter, the fruit is contrasted with the acts of the flesh that come before it.

Charity (caritas), joy (gaudium), peace (pax), patience (patientia), benignity (benignitas), goodness (bonitas), longanimity (longanimitas), mildness (mansuetudo), faith (fides), modesty (modestia), continency (continentia), and chastity are the twelve fruits recognized by the Catholic Church in the Latin Vulgate version of Galatians (castitas). The Baltimore Catechism, the Penny Catechism, and the Catechism of the Catholic Church all support this tradition, which was defended by Thomas Aquinas in his Summa Theologica.